# ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIOLOGICAL TECHNOLOGY MINUTES

## **December 20, 2004**

The Advisory Board on Radiological Technology met on Monday, December 20, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Health Professions. Peggy Heffernan, Chair, called the meeting to order. A quorum was declared.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Peggy Heffernan, RT, Chair

Mary Loritsch, RT Elizabeth Meixner, RT Robert Goldschmidt, M.D.

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** LaChele Gray

**STAFF PRESENT:** William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

Ola Powers, Deputy Executive Director-Licensing

Elaine Yeatts, Senior Regulatory Analyst Eusebia L. Joyner, Recording Secretary

GUESTS PRESENT: Joyce Hawkins, VSRT

## APPROVAL OF MINUTES DATED MAY 18, 2004

Ms. Heffernan moved to approve the minutes dated May 18, 2004. The motion was seconded and carried.

#### ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Ms. Loritsch moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

### PUBLIC COMMENTS ON AGENDA ITEMS

No Public comment.

# 1. Models of Continuing Competency

A letter was read to the Advisory Board by Joyce Hawkins on behalf of the Board of Directors of the Virginia Society of Radiologic Technologists. VSRT had become aware that some technologists have given up their certification with the ARRT and have still been renewing their state licenses and practicing as certified technologists in the field of radiology.

A discussion took place regarding the audit process for radiologic technologists and whether the Board should require current certification by ARRT for renewal. Dr. Goldschmidt moved to ask for an audit of 10% of licensees. The motion was seconded and approved. Dr. Goldschmidt also asked that the Board collect statistical data at the time of renewal to determine the number of radiologic technologists who had current ARRT certification.

# 2. Conflicts of Interest Training

A video presentation on Conflict of Interest was shown. Advisory Board members were instructed to call Ms. Wingfield, AAG, for any necessary clarifications.

The next scheduled meeting is February 2, 2005 at 1:00 p.m.

The meeting of the Advisory Board was adjourned	1.
Peggy Heffernan, RT (R), Chair	

William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

Eusebia L. Joyner, Recording Secretary